My academic future is currently up in the air.  I had a meeting with one of my professors today regarding graduate school and my future.  He basically recommended that since my grades are not great, not to apply to grad school for meteorology because, basically, no one will accept me.  This was a tremendous blow, even though I knew deep down it was coming.  My goal had always been to get my master's degree in meteorology, at minimum, and preferably at Oklahoma, so I could chase storms.  Now I'm not sure how much meteorology will be in my future after May 7, 2011.

For the past eight or so years of my life, all I've been able to think about is meteorology.  It's the only career I've ever truly been interested in.  And I love meteorology and the weather.  I truly want to be a forecaster.  It's my dream job.  But I'm really afraid that it's just slipped away.  

My professor said I still should apply for meteorology here at Florida Tech, because I may get accepted since I'm one of their own.  But no guarantees...I basically have to do AMAZING on the GREs to even be considered.  So now I'm looking slightly more seriously at going to UF and getting my master's in environmental science.  They have a lot of diversity in degree programs there, and while there isn't a specialized degree for meteorology, I can hopefully still get to do something I'm interested in.  My goal would then be to try and get a second master's elsewhere in meteorology.  It's the only thing I can think of to do.  I want to be a meteorologist so bad, and even if it takes two or more years before I can get back to it, I want to, desperately.

There are a lot of jobs in the environmental science field and my professor recommended me going the public policy route.  So I could basically work for the St. John's River Water Management District, for example (which I wouldn't mind doing and sort of got a job offer there a few years ago).  Working at a job like that, hopefully I can incorporate my meteorological background and have it help me move up through the ranks or into an actual meteorological position.

The only thing that still bothers me about this whole mess, is well, that I may never get to chase tornadoes for scientific purposes.  I mean, yes, one day I will make it to the Midwest and chase a tornado, I'm promising you this right now; but I wanted that to be my job...or at least work on a related research project.

I don't know what my future holds right now or what I'm going to do in the coming months, let alone what I'll be doing a year from now.  I've had a lot of "bad" things happen to me in the last three months, I just have to keep telling myself that everything happens for a reason.  I just want to know what to do, because I am in fact, lost.  Have a great day.



Leave a Reply.